Needs and Wants!

Today in Social Studies we discussed needs vs. wants. This was challenging for some of the students to distinguish between the two.  They had trouble realizing that though they might really, REALLY want a video game, they didn’t actually NEED one to live. This might be an interesting discussion to have at home too. Speaking of Social Studies, I had a few children ask me if I was sending home another social studies tutor sheet. I do not want to waste paper and I told the children to just practice reviewing with the completed tutor sheet that was sent home last Friday. If you need a new copy because it was recycled or is missing, please let me know. Our first social studies test will be on Friday.

Thank you to the parents who had their children try out Xtramath yesterday or after school today! Those children will be getting a PAW tomorrow for trying out the site at home. I hope you will all find the time to check out this resource for your child.

Thank you to Mrs. Khera for being the first to post a comment on my blog. It is so helpful to me to know if this blog is useful for the families. Since we are learning about needs and wants, here is something I “want”. I want to know how many parents are reading my new blog.  if you read this blog entry tonight and post a reply, you child will receive a surprise tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Needs and Wants!

  1. Just wanted to let you know that I am reading your blog and it is very informative. I always ask what he did at school that day, but he doesn’t go into detail too much. The pictures of what the children did and your blog give me a better idea of what you do with our children and how much fun they are really having at school! It takes a special person to be a teacher, so THANK YOU MRS. RIORDAN!

    • As a parent myself, I wondered what was going on in my daughters’ classrooms and they weren’t always great with details. I know it helped me when teachers communicated what was happening in the room.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *